ABTL - Association of Business Trial Lawyers

 

LOS ANGELES

Officers

Sabrina H. Strong

President
Sabrina H. Strong
O'Melveny & Myers LLP
400 South Hope Street, 15th Floor
Los Angeles, CA  90071
(213) 430-6113
sstrong@omm.com
Strong Bio

Vice President
Valerie M. Goo
Crowell & Moring LLP
515 South Flower Street, 40th Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90071
(213) 443-5505
vgoo@crowell.com
Goo Bio

Treasurer
Susan K. Leader
Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
2029 Century Park East, Suite 2400
Los Angeles, CA  90067-3012
(310) 229-1000
sleader@akingump.com
Leader Bio

Secretary
Manuel F. Cachán

Proskauer Rose LLP
2049 Century Park East, 32nd Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90067-3206
(310) 284-4568
mcachan@proskauer.com
Cachán Bio

Michael P. McNamara

Immediate Past President
Michael P. McNamara
Jenner & Block LLP
633 West Fifth Street, Suite 3600
Los Angeles, CA 90071-2054
213.239.5149
MMcNamara@jenner.com
McNamara Bio

Executive Director:
Linda A. Sampson
8502 E. Chapman Avenue, Suite 443
Orange, CA 92869
(323) 988-3428
(714) 602-2505 (fax)
abtl@abtl.org

Board of Governors

Courts Chair
Howard K. Alperin

Raines Feldman LLP
1800 Avenue of the Stars, 12th Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90067
(310) 440-4100
halperin@raineslaw.com  
Alperin Bio

Raymond P. Boucher
Boucher LLP
21600 Oxnard Street, Suite 600
Woodland Hills, CA 91367
(818) 340-5400
ray@boucher.la      
Boucher Bio

Hon. Stephanie M. Bowick
Los Angeles Superior Court

Dinner Programs Co-Chair
Kevin R. Boyle

Panish Shea & Boyle LLP
11111 Santa Monica Blvd., Suite 700
Los Angeles, CA  90025
(310) 477-1700
boyle@psblaw.com
Boyle Bio

Hon. Kevin Brazile
Los Angeles Superior Court

Civility Vice-Chair
Celeste M. Brecht

Venable LLP
2049 Century Park East, Suite 2300
Los Angeles, CA 90067
(310) 229-9900
CMBrecht@venable.com  
Brecht Bio

Technology Co-Chair
Stephen A. Broome

Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan, LLP
865 S. Figueroa Street, 10th Floor
Los Angeles, CA  90017
(213) 443-3000
StephenBroome@quinnemanuel.com
Broome Bio

Hon. Daniel J. Buckley
Los Angeles Superior Court

Young lawyers division chair:
Jen Cardelús

O'Melveny & Myers LLP
400 South Hope Street, 15th Floor
Los Angeles, CA  90071
(213) 430-6244
jcardelus@omm.com
Cardelús Bio

Hon. Lisa Hart Cole
Los Angeles Superior Court

Membership and Governance Co-Chair
Andre J. Cronthall

Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP
333 S. Hope Street, 43rd Floor
Los Angeles, CA  90071
(213) 617-5474
acronthall@sheppardmullin.com           
Cronthall Bio

Joseph Duffy
Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP
300 South Grand Ave., 22nd Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90071-3132
(213) 612-2536
JDuffy@morganlewis.com
Duffy Bio

Westside Committee Vice-Chair
John S. Durrant

Mitchell Silberberg & Knupp LLP
11377 W. Olympic Boulevard, 8th Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90064
(310) 312-2000
jsd@msk.com
Durrant Bio

Michael J. Duvall
Dentons US LLP
601 S. Figueroa Street, Suite 2500
Los Angeles, CA  90017-5704
(213) 892-2818
Michael.Duvall@dentons.com
Duvall Bio

Hon. Lee Smalley Edmon
California Court of Appeal

Steven N. Feldman
Hueston Hennigan LLP
523 W. Sixth Street, Suite 400
Los Angeles, CA 90014
(213) 229-8640
sfeldman@hueston.com
Feldman Bio

Courts Vice-Chair
T. John Fitzgibbons

Robie & Matthai APC
500 S. Grand Avenue, 15th Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90071-2609
(213) 706-8000
jfitzgibbons@romalaw.com
Fitzgibbons Bio

Dinner Programs Vice-Chair
Jeanne A. Fugate

Boies Schiller Flexner LLP
725 S. Figueroa St., 31st Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90017-5524
(213) 629-9040
JFugate@bsfllp.com
Fugate Bio

2019 Annual Seminar Co-Chair
Lorenzo E. Gasparetti

Reed Smith LLP
355 South Grand Avenue, Suite 2900
Los Angeles, CA 90071
(213) 457-8038
lgasparetti@reedsmith.com
Gasparetti Bio

Dale J. Giali
Mayer Brown LLP
350 South Grand Avenue, 25th Floor
Los Angeles, California  90071-1503
(213) 229-9509
dgiali@mayerbrown.com
Giali Bio

Public Service and Student outreach Vice-Chair
Emilio G. Gonzalez

Davis Wright Tremaine LLP
865 S. Figueroa Street, 24th Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90017-2566
(213) 633-6829
emiliogonzalez@dwt.com
Gonzalez Bio

Andrew B. Grossman
Winston & Strawn LLP
333 S. Grand Avenue, Suite 3800
Los Angeles, CA  90071
(213) 615-1921
AGrossman@winston.com
Grossman Bio

Westside Committee Co-Chair
Jordan Grotzinger

Greenberg Traurig LLP
1840 Century Park East, Suite 1900
Los Angeles, CA 90067
(310) 586-7700
grotzingerj@gtlaw.com
Grotzinger Bio

Hon. Brian M. Hoffstadt
California Court of Appeal

Young Lawyer Division Vice-Chair
Andrew J. Holmer
Crowell & Moring LLP
515 South Flower Street, 40th Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90071
(213) 443-5509 
AHolmer@crowell.com    
Holmer Bio

Brian C. Horne
Knobbe Martens Olson & Bear LLP
1925 Century Park East, Suite 600
Los Angeles, CA 90067
(310) 551-3450
Brian.Horne@knobbe.com          
Horne Bio

Gregory S. Korman
Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP
2029 Century Park East, Suite 2600
Los Angeles, CA 90067-3012
(310) 788-4421
gregory.korman@kattenlaw.com           
Korman Bio

Hon. Ruth Kwan
Los Angeles Superior Court

Dinner Programs Co-Chair
Allen L. Lanstra

Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP
300 South Grand Avenue Suite 3400
Los Angeles, California  90071
(213) 687-5513
allen.lanstra@skadden.com
Lanstra Bio

Westside Committee Co-Chair
Jason Linder

Irell & Manella LLP
1800 Avenue of the Stars, Suite 900
Los Angeles, CA 90067-4276
310.203.7640
jlinder@irell.com            
Linder Bio

David R. Lira
Girardi │ Keese LLP
1126 Wilshire Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA  90017
(213) 262-6777
DLira@girardikeese.com
Lira Bio

Civility Chair
Michael L. Mallow

Sidley Austin LLP
1999 Avenue of the Stars, 17th Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90067
(310) 595-9500
MMallow@sidley.com
Mallow Bio

ABTL Report Co-Editor
Robin Meadow
Greines, Martin, Stein & Richland LLP
5900 Wilshire Blvd., 12th Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90036
(310) 859-7811
rmeadow@gmsr.com        
Meadow Bio

2019 Annual Seminar Co-Chair
Jennifer L. Meeker

Nossaman LLP
777 South Figueroa Street, 34th Floor
Los Angeles, CA  90017
(213) 612-7800
jmeeker@nossaman.com 
Meeker Bio

Lunch Programs Vice-Chair
Robert W. Mockler

McKool Smith Hennigan, P.C.
300 South Grand Ave, Suite 2900
Los Angeles, CA 90071
(213) 694-1200
rmockler@McKoolSmithHennigan.com           
Mockler Bio

Hon. Maren E. Nelson
Los Angeles Superior Court

Hon. S. James Otero
United States District Court

Douglas R. Painter
Steinbrecher & Span LLP
445 S. Figueroa Street, Suite 2230
Los Angeles, CA 90071
(213) 891-1400
dpainter@steinbrecherspan.com
Painter Bio

ABTL Report Co-Editor
John F. Querio
Horvitz & Levy LLP
15760 Ventura Boulevard, 18th Floor
Encino, CA 91436-3000
(818) 995-0800
jquerio@horvitzlevy.com
Querio Bio

Lunch Programs Vice-Chair
Wendy J. Ray

Morrison Foerster
707 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 6000
Los Angeles, CA  90017
(213) 892-5446
wray@mofo.com
Ray Bio

Rick L. Richmond
Jenner & Block LLP
633 West Fifth Street, Suite 3600
Los Angeles, CA 90071-2054
(213) 239-5151
RRichmond@jenner.com
Richmond Bio

Hon. Lawrence P. Riff
Los Angeles Superior Court

Daniel A. Rozansky
Stubbs Alderton & Markiles, LLP
15260 Ventura Boulevard 20th Floor
Sherman Oaks, CA 91403
(818) 444-4548
drozansky@stubbsalderton.com
Rozansky Bio

Technology Co-Chair
Dylan Ruga

Stalwart Law Group
11620 Wilshire Blvd., 9th Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90025
(310) 954-2000
dylan@stalwartlaw.com    
Ruga Bio

James C. Rutten
Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP
355 S Grand Avenue, 35th Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90071-1560
(213) 683-9189
James.Rutten@mto.com
Rutten Bio

Westside Committee Vice-Chair
Paul B. Salvaty

Hogan Lovells US LLP
1999 Avenue of the Stars, Suite 1400
Los Angeles, CA 90067
(310) 785-4677
paul.salvaty@hoganlovells.com
http://www.hoganlovells.com/en/paul-b-salvaty

Lunch Programs Chair
Kahn A. Scolnick

Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP
333 South Grand Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90071-3197
(213) 229-7656
KScolnick@gibsondunn.com
Scolnick Bio

Hon. Suzanne H. Segal
United States District Court

Aalok Sharma
White & Case LLP
555 S. Flower Street, 27th Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90071
(213) 620-7700
asharma@whitecase.com
Sharma Bio

Steven G. Sklaver
Susman Godfrey LLP
1901 Avenue of the Stars, Suite 950
Los Angeles, CA 90067-6029
(310) 789-3123
SSklaver@susmangodfrey.com
Sklaver Bio

Public Service and Student outreach Vice-Chair
Tami S. Smason

Foley & Lardner LLP
555 South Flower Street, Suite 3500
Los Angeles, CA 90071-2411
(213) 972-4647
TSmason@foley.com
Smason Bio

Public Service and Student outreach Chair
Suzelle M. Smith

Howarth & Smith
523 West Sixth Street, Suite 728
Los Angeles, CA 90014
(213) 955-9400
SSmith@Howarth-Smith.com
Smith Bio

Jessica L.  Stebbins Bina
Latham & Watkins, LLP
355 South Grand Avenue, Suite 100
Los Angeles, CA 90071
(213) 485-1234
Jessica.Stebbinsbina@lw.com     
Stebbins Bina Bio

Diana M. Torres
Kirkland & Ellis LLP
333 S. Hope Street, Suite 2900
Los Angeles, CA 90071
(213) 680-8400
Diana.Torres@kirkland.com
Torres Bio

Alan Van Gelder
Greene Broillet & Wheeler, LLP
100 Wilshire Blvd., 21st Floor
Santa Monica, CA  90401-1162
(310) 576-1200
AVanGelder@greene-broillet.com
Van Gelder Bio

Membership and Governance Co-Chair
Hern
án D. Vera
Bird, Marella, Wolpert, Nessim, Drooks, Lincenberg & Rhow, P.C.
1875 Century Park East, 23rd Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90067
(310) 201-2100
hvera@birdmarella.com   
Vera Bio

Membership and Governance Vice-Chair
Robert L. Wallan

Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP
725 South Figueroa Street, Suite 2800
Los Angeles, CA 90017-5406
(213) 488-7100
Robert.Wallan@pillsburylaw.com
Wallan Bio

Daniel L. Warshaw
Pearson, Simon & Warshaw, LLP
15165 Ventura Blvd Ste 400
Sherman Oaks, CA  91403
(818) 205-2805
DWarshaw@pswlaw.com
Warshaw Bio

Hon. John Shepard Wiley, Jr.
Los Angeles Superior Court

Shari Mulrooney Wollman
Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, LLP
11355 West Olympic Blvd., 9th Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90064-1614
(310) 312-4000
swollman@manatt.com
Wollman Bio

Dinner Programs Vice-Chair
Jason C. Wright

Jones Day
555 S. Flower Street, 50th Floor
Los Angeles, CA  90071
(213) 243-2639
JCWright@jonesday.com

Thomas A. Zaccaro
Paul Hastings LLP
515 S. Flower Street, 25th Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90071
(213) 683-6185
thomaszaccaro@paulhastings.com
Zaccaro Bio

Judicial Advisory Council

Hon. Andre Birotte, Jr.
United States District Court

Hon. Huey Cotton
Los Angeles Superior Court

Hon. Brian S. Currey
Los Angeles Superior Court

Hon. Samantha P. Jessner
Los Angeles Superior Court

Hon. Ann I. Jones
Los Angeles Superior Court

Hon. Carolyn B. Kuhl
Los Angeles Superior Court

Hon. Virginia A. Phillips
United States District Court

 

Hon. Alka Sagar
United States District Court

Hon. Mary H. Strobel
Los Angeles Superior Court

Hon. Paul J. Watford
Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals

Hon. Debre K. Weintraub
Los Angeles Superior Court

Past Presidents

Allan Browne

Hon. William Masterson (Ret.)

John H. Brinsley
johnbrinsley@hotmail.com

Loren R. Rothschild
rothschild@sycamorehillcapital.com

Thomas J. McDermott, Jr.
tmcdermott@mcdelaw.com
McDermott Bio

Peter I. Ostroff
postroff@sidley.com
Ostroff Bio

Robert H. Fairbank
rfairbank@fairbankadr.com
Fairbank Bio

Harvey I. Saferstein
Harvey@headwear.com    

Mark A. Neubauer
mneubauer@cfjblaw.com
Neubauer Bio

Richard R. Mainland
Richard.mainland@nortonrosefulbright.com
Mainland Bio

Bruce A. Friedman
bfriedman@jamsadr.com
Friedman Bio

Laurence H. Pretty
lhpretty@laurencepretty.com

Hon. Charles Vogel (Ret.)
csv@chuckvogel.com
Vogel Bio

Hon. Elihu M. Berle

Robert A. Shlachter
rshlachter@stollberne.com
Schlachter Bio

Howard O. Boltz, Jr.
Howard.boltz@gmail.com

William E. Wegner
wwegner@brownwegner.com 
Wegner Bio

Jeffrey I. Weinberger
Jeffrey.weinberger@mto.com
Wegner Bio

Karen Kaplowitz
kkaplowitz@newellis.com
Kaplowitz Bio

David M. Stern 
dstern@ktbslaw.com
Stern Bio

Hon. Richard J. Burdge, Jr.

Jeffrey C. Briggs
jbriggs@jbriggslaw.com
Briggs Bio

Barbara Reeves
BReeves@jamsadr.com
Reeves Bio

Seth Aronson
saronson@omm.com
Aronson Bio

Robert S. Span
rspan@steinbrecherspan.com
Span Bio

Alan E. Friedman
Alan@FriedmanADR.com
Friedman Bio

Jeff S. Westerman
jwesterman@jswlegal.com

Hon. Patrick A. Cathcart

Michael A. Sherman

msherman@stubbsalderton.com
Sherman Bio

Steven E. Sletten
ssletten@gibsondunn.com
Sletten Bio

Travers D. Wood
twood@clarktrev.com
Woods Bio

Scott H. Carr
scar@greene-broillet.com
Carr Biol

Michael M. Maddigan
michael.maddigan@hoganlovells.com
Maddigan Bio

Theresa A. Kristovich
tkristovich@gordonrees.com
Kristovich Bio

Philip E. Cook
pcook@cooklawfirm.la
Cook Bio

J. Warren Rissier
warren.rissier@morganlewis.com
Rissier Bio

David A. Battaglia
dbattaglia@gibsondunn.com
Battaglia Bio

Bryan A. Merryman
bmerryman@whitecase.com
Merryman Bio

Nancy R. Thomas
NThomas@mofo.com
Thomas Bio

Michael P. McNamara
MMcNamara@jenner.com
McNamara Bio